Australian National ChampionshipsComments Off on Australian National Championships

Posted In Results on February 4, 2010

Australian National Championships – Powered by SRAM!

Australian Mountain Bike National Championships kicked off at Eagle Mountain Bike Park in Adelaide starting Thursday, January 14. SRAM was an official event sponsor, and we had tons of event signage, banners, and fencing. Everyone that attended or sees pictures from this event will have red SRAM logos on their mind.

SRAM sponsored racers took home national titles, many of them competing on

In Cross Country racing, Daniel McConnell wins his first elite Australian national cross country title riding XX. Tasmanian Rowena Fry made it back-to-back cross country titles at the Australian mountain bike national championships in Adelaide on Saturday, also on XX. The Under 23 category in the men’s race was won by Paul van der Ploeg (on XX) who at age 20, is quickly becoming one of Australia’s most likely contenders on the world stage.

4X racing also saw SRAM racers on top. In the rainbow jersey of world champion, Caroline Buchanan claimed her fifth Australian four cross title. Luke Madill was as smooth as usual – taking all the heats, and winning the top spot.

Sid Taberlay won his first short track national title racing XX in Adelaide on Sunday. Rowena Fry won the women’s short track national championships on Sunday in Adelaide. While it was a familiar result, coming one day after Fry also won the cross country, again on XX.

Comments are closed.